General country information

Official name of the country: Russian Federation

Population: 146.5 million (2016, Rosstat)

Area: 17,1 million square kilometers

Capital: Moscow

System of Government: Federal Presidential Republic

Head of State: Vladimir Putin, President

Head of the Government: Dmitry Medvedev, Prime Minister

Science Minister: Olga Vasilyeva

Parliament: Federative Council (upper house), Duma (lower house)

Administrative structure: The federal subjects are grouped into eight federal districts.

Geography: The Russian Federation stretches across much of the north of Eurasia.

Source: HSE
Last update: August 2016



  • Country Report 2014: Russia

    [PDF - 270.6 kB]

    (general information - research structure - research policies - international cooperation) (URL:

  • Country Report 2011: Russia

    [PDF - 947.4 kB]

    (November 2011, compiled as an annex to the "White Paper on Opportunities and Challenges in View of Enhancing the EU Cooperation with Eastern Europe, Central Asia, and South Caucasus in Science, Research, and Innovation".) (URL:

Contact Persons

  • Anna Pikalova

    • Higher School of Economics (HSE)
    • Myasnitskaya 20
    • 101000 Moscow, Russia
    • Telephone: +7 495 6283254
    • Fax: +7 495 6250367
    • Address: