This Country Report is currently only available in English language.

General country information

Official name of the: Republic of Moldova

Population: approx. 3.6 million

Area: 33,843.5 km2

Capital: Chisinau

System of Government: Parliamentary Republic

Head of the Government: Prime Minister of the Republic of Moldova – Iurie Leanca, nominated on 15 May 2013, by presidential decree.

Science Minister: Academician Gheorghe Duca – President of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova

The Academy of Sciences of Moldova (ASM) is delegated with Government competences with the view to realising state policy in the sphere of science and innovation and the President of the ASM is a member of the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Moldova.

Parliament: The Parliament of the Republic of Moldova (Parlamentul Republicii Moldova) is a unicameral assembly with 101 seats. Its members are elected by popular vote every 4 years. The parliament then elects a president, who functions as the head of state. The president appoints a prime minister as head of government who in turn assembles a cabinet, both subject to parliamentary approval. Speaker of the Parliament – Igor Corman.

Administrative structure: Moldova is divided into 32 districts (raioane, singular raion); three municipalities (Bălţi, Chişinău, Tighina); and two autonomous regions (Găgăuzia and Transnistria). The cities of Comrat and Tiraspol also have municipality status, however not as first-tier subdivisions of Moldova, but as parts of the regions of Găgăuzia and Transnistria, respectively. The status of Transnistria is however under dispute. Although it is de jure part of Moldova and is recognised as such by the international community, Transnistria is not de facto under the control of the central government of Moldova. It is administered by an unrecognised breakaway authority under the name Pridnestrovian Moldovan Republic.

Geography: he Republic of Moldova lies in the Eastern part of Europe and occupies an area of 33,843.5 square km.

The capital of Moldova is Chisinau. On the north, east and south Moldova is surrounded by Ukraine, and on the west it is separated from Romania by the Prut River.

The total length of the national boundaries is 1,389 km, including 939 km with Ukraine and 450 km with Romania. The most northerly point is the village of Naslavcea (48º21´ N 27º35´ E), while the most southerly point is Giurgiulesti (45º 28´ N 28º 12´ E), which is the only settlement on the bank of the Danube. The most westerly point is the village of Criva (48º16´ N 26º30´ E) and the most easterly point is the village of Palanca (46º 25´ N 30º 05´ E).

The Republic of Moldova belongs to the group of countries located in the Black Sea Basin. It maintains close mutually advantageous commercial ties with these countries as well as the countries located in the Danube Basin. The southern border of the country extends almost as far as the Black Sea, which can be accessed through the Nistru Liman and the Danube River.

Source: ASM
Last update: February 2015



  • Country Report 2014: Moldova

    [PDF - 339.5 kB]

    (general information - research structure - research policies - international cooperation) (URL:

  • Country Report 2011: Moldova

    [PDF - 1.21 MB]

    (November 2011, compiled as an annex to the "White Paper on Opportunities and Challenges in View of Enhancing the EU Cooperation with Eastern Europe, Central Asia, and South Caucasus in Science, Research, and Innovation".) (URL:

Contact Persons

  • Diana Grozav

    • Centre of International Projects of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova
    • Address:
    • Homepage:⟨=en