21.10.2014 [News]

4th Meeting of EU-Tajikistan Cooperation Council: EU announces further support for development

The European Union (EU) and the Republic of Tajikistan held their fourth Cooperation Council meeting on 20 October 2014. The meeting was chaired by Mr Benedetto Della Vedova, Undersecretary of State at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Italy, as the head of the EU delegation. The delegation of Tajikistan was led by Mr  Sirodjidin Aslov, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Tajikistan. 

During the Cooperation Council, the European Commission also announced new development funding of €251 million to Tajikistan for the period 2014-2020. The funds will focus on vital sectors for growth and social stability, such as rural development, health, and education.

EU Commissioner for Development, Andris Piebalgs, said: "Development support is still vital for much of the Tajikistan population. We are committed to achieving the greatest possible results of every euro spent, and that is why we have defined our priorities in close discussions with the government.  Ultimately, we hope to create the conditions for the country to become self-reliant."

The Cooperation Council reaffirmed the commitment of both parties to strengthen relations in a number of cooperation areas and took stock of the progress made since the third Cooperation Council between the EU and the Republic of Tajikistan in October 2013.

The Cooperation Council reiterated the importance of a comprehensive implementation of the EU Strategy for Central Asia both on a regional and national basis and welcomed Tajikistan’s active engagement in the EU regional initiatives for Central Asia. Developments were discussed as regards concrete flagship initiatives, such as on the Rule of Law, Education and Environment.

The signature of the development programme (known as Multiannual Indicative Programme), between European Commissioner for Development, Andris Piebalgs, and the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Tajikistan, Sirodjidin Aslov, was finalised in the margins of the EU-Tajikistan Cooperation Council.

The EU will thus focus its support to Tajikistan in the next seven years on:

  • rural development (€110 million)
  • health (€62.2million)
  • education and vocational training (€75 million)

Source and further information: Council of the European Union