General country information

Official name of the country: Republic of Armenia

Population: 3,056,382 (July 2015 est.)

Area: 29,743 km2

Capital: Yerevan

System of Government: Presidential Republic

Head of the Government: Prime Minister Hovik Abrahamyan

Education & Science Minister: Armen Ashotyan

Parliament: Speaker of the National Assmebly – Galust Sahakyan

Administrative structure: 11 marzes (provinces)

Geography: Armenia is a landlocked country in the Asia Minor, borders with Georgia in the North, Azerbaijan-Nakhijevan exclave in the East and South-West,  Turkey in the West and Iran in the South.  The terrain is mostly mountainous and flat, with fast flowing rivers and few forests. The climate is highland continental. The land rises to 4,095 m above sea-level at Mount Aragats, and no point is below 400 m.

Sources: NAS RA, CIA World Factbook
Last update: February 2016



  • Country Report 2016: Armenia

    [PDF - 194.1 kB]

    (general information - research structure - research policies - international cooperation) (URL:

  • Country Report 2011: Armenia

    [PDF - 1.24 MB]

    (November 2011, compiled as an annex to the "White Paper on Opportunities and Challenges in View of Enhancing the EU Cooperation with Eastern Europe, Central Asia, and South Caucasus in Science, Research, and Innovation".) (URL:

Contact Persons

  • Tigran Arzumanyan

    • National Academy of Sciences of Armenia
    • 24, Marshal Baghramian Ave.
    • 0019 Yerevan, Armenia
    • Telephone: +374 10 525432
    • Fax: +374 10 525432
    • Address: